Section B7-before viewing-student responses-ELA A10

Response 1- I don’t really consider anyone my hero but I know about plenty of people who have positively and tremendously changed the world. Nelson Mandela was one of them. I know he was a friend to many and a hero to many more, and he will be missed. I am ashamed that the only time and reason I learned about him was because he died. He was one of the closest things to what I consider people’s hero.

I chose this comment over the others because they don’t consider anyone their hero, which is similar to me. I look up to many people, but I don’t think of anyone as a hero. I also like the response because it connects with those who knew Nelson Mandela well, and sees how they viewed him as a hero, knowing of all the great things that Mandela did in his life. Another way that I connect with this comment is how I learned about Mr. Mandela. While I beleive that I Heard about him before he died, I didn’t experience his many hardships and achievements, and would have liked to witness them while they were happening.

Response 2- My heroes are the people that go out of their way to help someone in need. Someone that doesn’t stop at an obstacle they get around it and keep going. Someone that always gets up if something knocks them down. Someone that won’t ever give up. They will keep fighting forever. I think that he was this kind of man. That he had a goal in mind and nothing was going to stop him until he got that goal accomplished. I feel if I was part of South Africa he would he my hero.

This comment is interesting to me because of the way that they say everything. This person doesn’t have any specific people that they would call a hero to them, but they do know what qualities a person must have to be called a hero, which is important if someone or something moves you later in life, so you can tell if they could be a hero or not. The commenter also emphasizes with those that were affected by Nelson Mandela’s actions, by saying that he fits the qualities of a hero to him, but he didn’t feel the impact of it. When the response states that “if I was part of South Africa” that they would have been more affected by his actions and would have felt his death. This comment shows that even some of the greatest heros can’t affect everyone, but can still be appreciated by others.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *